The grass is not always greener

” The grass may be greener on the other side of the fence, but you still have to mow it.” -Anonymous

Although I generally work with kids 0-5 years old, I keep a few adult clients to add some variety to my day. ( I work as a mental health therapist…yup -head shrinking/Freud/how does that make you feel- therapist). I’m very thankful for my job and I love what I do. I think it is pretty unique to get a chance to have unshielded view into other people’s worlds. I walk with others as they look internally and find the courage and inspiration to live their lives better than before.

Last week I had a glimpse into another marriage. Let me say – I have only been married 4 years. In no way do I think that I have perfected marriage or will never have a difficult time in my marriage. But last week made me very grateful for what I do have.

I suppose we all feel that way from time to time. We see someone else and think, ” Maybe I have it better than I thought.” I’m sure people have looked at my life and thought, “phew, glad I’m not her.” And I guess that is where the lesson of learning to be content comes in. Fact is, no one will ever have it all. At what point are we going to say ‘more would be great, but life is good right here too.’ I see many people who are in difficult situations. Some are content and some are not.  Is it a decision we can make?

Leave a Reply

