Cash Vs. Online Banking

Since starting FPU, we find ourselves going to the bank a bit more often to withdraw cash for the envelope system. This past week, we went to the bank and decided to withdraw our cash for our vacation that is coming up in three weeks. We knew if we left it sitting in the account, we would find areason to spend it. So, we withdrew it, stuck it in an envelope, sealed it and stored it in a safe place.

Before going to the bank, I knew the amount of cash we had saved and were going to withdraw. I saw it on our online banking. But there is something different about actually counting out the cash.

There was a brief moment where we both looked at each other and realized, wow, we just really paid for our vacation. It was so weird and so cool. Cash definitely has more shock value than online banking.

2 thoughts on “Cash Vs. Online Banking

  1. Deb July 3, 2008 / 9:35 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! Cash has a lot more power… I <a href=”http://blog.thewriterbee.com/2008/07/02/beans-and-rice/”just wrote a post yesterday about how I think one of the reasons I busted my budget for the first time since starting the Baby Steps (and FPU) is because I switched from cash to debit card on a few of my budget categories which somehow caused me to spend more. So for July, I’m back to a full cash envelope for those items and already feel like there’s been a difference. Funny how that works, isn’t it?

  2. Deb July 3, 2008 / 9:36 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! Cash has a lot more power… I just wrote a post yesterday about how I think one of the reasons I busted my budget for the first time since starting the Baby Steps (and FPU) is because I switched from cash to debit card on a few of my budget categories which somehow caused me to spend more. So for July, I’m back to a full cash envelope for those items and already feel like there’s been a difference. Funny how that works, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

