More history being made

Our country now has a potential women vice president, nearly 88 years to the day that women won the right to vote.  Our country has come a long way over the past 90 years. Whichever party wins the election, history will be made.

It’s amusing to watch people I know who are all for one candidate over the other. I will say this though, I would never survive if I had to work in politics.  All this conflict is so awkward and it makes me feel like there is no air left in the room.

I think I have realized one of my biggest pet peeves. It is when someone makes a decision and believes in it so strongly, they think anyone who does not think the same way, must be wrong. What is true for you may not be true for me. I’m not saying that truth is subjective because it is not. But my experience may be different from yours. Therefore, my view of the world is different than yours. Why can’t we all just get along people?

There is a lot more that could be said, but it would sound preachy so I will let it drop.

 

Overall I think it is a neat time for our country and I am excited to see civil rights moving forward.

2 thoughts on “More history being made

  1. materetuxor September 2, 2008 / 10:18 am

    Whatever Angie, you know that anyone who votes for Obama is going to hell! Haha, just kidding. I feel the same way. I am passionate about my candidate but I love hearing other people’s reasons and stories for voting for the other guy. AND I think its awesome that we are going to be party of history, no matter who we vote for and who wins. It will be one of the positives stories we tell our children one day. It will be a great starting point for the “You can do and be anything you want to be” talk that we will have with them, and part of the instillation of why this country is so great in their upbringing.
    Hey we have a 12 hour road trip next week, we can talk politics the whole way! Haha, just kidding.

  2. materetuxor September 2, 2008 / 10:21 am

    Sorry, I meant to say “part” of history. I wish you could edit your comments!

Leave a Reply

