Hi, my name is Angela, and I can’t say no.

I’ve come to the realization I am not a superhero – I can not be involved in everything. I am finding myself pulled in too many directions. Work is requiring more, I need to study for my state test ( rapidly approaching in January. GULP), church involvement , although I love all of it, requires a great deal of my time, and then there is the usual stuff, laundry, dishes…… breathing etc. 

I did not set out to become over-streched, or jump in all at once. The busyniess increasded slow and steady, a little here, a little there.  But here I am, overwhelmed. So I am re-evaluating all of my commitments and how I spend my time. I’m prioritizing and working through which areas I can pull back from. Although I do not feel it is fair to flake out on areas I have already committed to, I am trying to figure out how I can be more reasonable with my time. 

 

 

Time management has never been my strongest quality. I think I am going to have to be incredibly self-disciplined with my time in order to make it through the next few months.  Self discipline? Yeah, I’m as good at that as I am with time management. 

 

*Sigh* it might be a long few months. 

3 thoughts on “Hi, my name is Angela, and I can’t say no.

  1. Nam October 2, 2008 / 12:40 am

    Ha, quite funny

  2. materetuxor October 2, 2008 / 10:02 am

    Delegate, my friend, delegate. If there is something at church you can train someone else to do til January, do it. If there is a show you can DVR and make Sunday afternoons your day to catch up on everything, do that. Make work time the only time you think/do work, have home time be your time to get stuff done there. And somewhere in all of that, you need to squeeze in some Angie time, best spend with ME AT STARBUCKS! 🙂

  3. leftcornerofmybrain October 2, 2008 / 11:28 pm

    yeah, I know. There are 3 other people at church to run the screens (wonderful). I am training them for the next 6 weeks, so by mid-November, I should have a little freedom in that area. Now if we can just find someone for Fuel……

    I am trying to get better at the home stuff too. I’ve tried to carve out time for all the routine stuff – laundry, grocery shopping etc. And then I want to pre-cook a few recipes on the weekends etc. I’m getting there, it is just a process. Unfortunately, I didn’t pay attention until I was already feeling overwhelmed.

    Um, Starbucks- anytime!

Leave a Reply

