Yes, this is all for me. And no, I’m not having a party.

I would like to talk about my neighborhood grocery store for just a moment. To protect their identity, I will call them SHomeland. Over the past two months, I have grown an extreme aversion to this store. Actually, I like all the food I can buy there because they have such a wide variety of organic products.  Anyway, back to my story.

Every time I check out, the cashiers (yes, plural) feel the need to comment on the volume of food I am purchasing.

And ask many people live in my house.

And ask if I am married.

And make some random comment that I must be having a party. And they raise their voice at the end to make it a question. 

The list goes on. The first few times it happened, I thought ,”Gosh, do I really buy that much food?” But today I bought two weeks of groceries and kept the list to the minimum. 

Now please know, Jeremy and I cook most of our meals – including lunches we take to work. Most of our meals are made from scratch. It is rare we eat frozen or prepared dinners or hamburger helper etc.  So all of this does create a little bit more food to buy, but it is not like we are eating a feast every night. Just regular meals. And can I also mention that we spend waaaayyyy less than what was suggested for our grocery budget in our Financial Peace Class

I am sick of having to defend myself to acne-covered kids who live on ramen noodles. And who are maybe just a little bit high. I don’t want to explain my entire menu to them when they have the munchies. That’s just mean. 

But really -how on earth do they think it is appropriate?

So here is my question. Is there any one else out there that cooks the majority of their meals that experiences this at their grocery store?!!? Maybe it is because I buy the majority of our food two weeks at a time rather than once a week? Maybe it is just three very special people at my local SHomeland?

People, I’m feeling a little venerable.

2 thoughts on “Yes, this is all for me. And no, I’m not having a party.

  1. materetuxor October 6, 2008 / 9:29 pm

    Haha! Omg I go to “Shomeland” too! That never happens to me but I am usually buying high quantities of baby food and diapers and I have that frazzled crazy look about me like “omg why can’t my kid eat table food and I have to keep spending $50 every two weeks on this nasty pureed crap?” So they leave me alone. But Ryan gets that all the time at “SHAMS” when he is shopping for a cater.
    Kids these days. Don’t let them get to you, their mommies probably deal with the same thing 🙂

  2. leftcornerofmybrain October 6, 2008 / 9:46 pm

    Thanks friend. Glad to know I am not the only one 🙂

Leave a Reply

