Purpose

Last week, we had dinner with our pastor to share a few exciting things with him. In the process, we started talking about how different life is today than it used to be. He called me a few days later and asked me to share my story at church. So I did:

When Pastor Steve called me last week and asked me to share my story about how purpose has played a role in my life, I just kind of laughed. When I was 15, my youth pastor asked me, “When you are 80 years old and look back on your life, what will you have to show for it? If you can indentify the people you have influenced and affected, then you will have lived a life worth living.” I took that to heart and that mindset has influenced many of the decisions in my life.

A few years ago, the standing joke was that I never went to church. My husband Jeremy was very involved in church – he was there every week. I made it maybe once a month. At the time, I was working for a social service agency and used my job as a convenient excuse. I told myself, “I don’t have to rush to be involved in church because my job is very demanding, and I have found purpose there, so I’m fine.” The problem was, without getting involved in the church, I had no reason to go.  So I didn’t. The few times I went were more out of obligation because it was the ‘right’ thing to do.

Once we started attending Passion, I wanted to do better than I had before.  I became convicted that having a job with purpose was not enough. So I got involved at church. I started working in the sound desk to run the screens and got involved in Fuel, our college and career group.  Something amazing happened – I discovered that I loved it. I began to look for creative ways for services to be better, I became very excited when services went well. I had become personally invested. No longer did I begrudge coming on Sundays, but rather looked forward to it as the highlight of my week. As I found a purpose and a reason for being here on Sundays, other things started happening too. I often left services feeling challenged to live life better -not because it was the right thing to do, but because my relationship with Christ was deepening and growing. Our marriage became stronger, and life long friendships have been made. Healing took place, and new dreams were set.

One thing that I am starting to figure out is that “Purpose” is a journey. God has been doing some work within myself and my husband over the past two years and preparing us for an exciting adventure. I’ve realized that not only am I called to have purpose at work and within the church, but at home as well. We are getting ready to adopting our first child. We are beyond excited. We feel like God is leading us in this new direction for a reason. We often wonder, “Who is this child that God is going to bring him/her into our lives?  That He would want us to parent them?” I know that I know that I know that this is God orchestrated. I am not sure what this will all look like in the end. What I do know is that living with a purpose in all areas of life is so much better than with none.

 

On a personal note, it was an honor to share our story this morning. A little intimidating and my voice was shaky the entire time, but truley an honor. I’m so grateful that people can see how God is working in my life and shaping me into what He has called me to be!

One thought on “Purpose

Leave a Reply

