What is your story?

I shared my story at church last week. In front of a lot of people. I was really nervous, but I was really glad I did it. 

A few days ago, we met over dinner with another friend that is adopting. We each shared what lead us to this decision. Shala said, “Everyone’s story about how they came to adoption is different. Even families from the same city that are traveling to the same country to adopt can have completely different stories.”

Throughout the week, I have been thinking about the idea of  stories. Everyone has one. I once heard it said, “God created man because He loves stories.” That’s the truth isn’t it? Just look at the Bible – Adam and Eve, Moses, Ruth, Esther, David and Goliath, Solomon, John the Baptist, the Apostles, and then of course, Jesus. 

As kids, we love stories. Fiction or real-life, we find aspects of the story that we can relate to. Draw courage from. Draw hope from.  We use stories to teach life lessons and to bring comfort. 

Perhaps we should tell our stories so that others can see what God has done in us and for us. Because maybe they will find hope that if you could_____________________(please feel free to fill in the blank here: change, find happiness, find hope, live life differently) then maybe they can also.

As for me, I am figuring out that I have many stories. My current situation is really only chapter 1 or 2 of what I think will be a pretty incredible story. So stay tuned.

 What is your story? More importantly, do you share it?

Leave a Reply

