Consolation

This year I am reading Bread For The Journey by Henri Nouwen. Just wanted to share what I read yesterday:

‘Consolation is a beautiful word. It means “to be” (con) “with the lonely one” (solus). To offer consolation is one of the most important ways to care. Life is so full of pain, sadness and loneliness that we often wonder what we can do to alleviate the immense suffering we see. We can and must offer consolation. … (cont) To console does not mean to take away the pain but rather to be there and say, “You are not alone, I am here with you. Together we can carry the burden.” That is consolation. We all need to give it as well as to receive it. ‘

There are days at work when I hear awful stories -the worst of the worst of humanity. At times, I can become overwhelmed by other people’s stories and feel the need to ‘fix’ it in attempts to gain some sense of control in what feels like a hopeless situations. I then find myself frustrated with my lack of ability to ‘fix’ things that are not mine to fix. How refreshing to remember that I first need to offer consolation, and later, the rest will work itself out. 

I love it when what you are reading matches your situation and offers hope, a renewed energy, and changes your perspective for the day ahead. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

