I Choose Hope

Sometimes it is a struggle between seeing the best in people or the worst of people.  

Over the past year, I have heard the most awful of stories: murder (those that did and those that were nearly), rape, child abuse, domestic violence, rejection of parent to child, racism, segregation, hatred, greed, betrayal and the list could go on.  At my job, some days are heavy than others. And try as hard as I may, some days I take it home. Not because I want to, but because I would not be human to be moved so deeply by these stories. 

The flip side of all of this is that if you look closely, within these awful events lays another story: courage, forgiveness, hope, resilience, determination, and healing. Some days the good stories are so easy to see. Other days you have to hunt for them.

My therapist (because all therapists ethically should see their own therapist. And yes, I can recognize the overwhelming irony it this) told me, “You can not control what other people think, how they act or what decisions they make. The only person you can control is yourself. Your reactions, your behaviors, your feelings. ”  

How insightful is that?

So for today I am choosing to see the good and not be discouraged by the overwhelming bad. I am choosing to place my hope in the One who heals and comforts.  I am choosing to have hope not as a form of denial of the bad, but rather in spite of it.  

What about you? What kind of things are you choosing about yourself?

Leave a Reply

