On becoming a Mother

Getting ready to become a parent through adoption has been an interesting experience.

Many of you may know, we chose to leave the adoption open to a boy or a girl, as long as the child is under 12 months. We have also purposfully not picked out a name for our child, because we want to see what they are named when they come to our home. We may keep their given name, or we may opt to give them a name we choose. We will cross that bridge when we get there.

We daydream about life will be like when the baby arrives. I often find myself thinking, when the baby is here…..I wonder what their laugh will sound like, what their face looks like when they are learning, what their cries and cues sound like. Then I also find myself  thinking….I will have to wake up earlier in the mornings, get used to very little sleep, have someone dependent on me for all of their needs. Then I think, Geez, I am signing up for this voluntarily?! What is wrong with me?!

And then there is the waiting. Oh my gosh, the waiting. I hear many people say the waiting is the most difficult part. For us, waiting has been the best part. We have LOVED our time together. We cherish the quiet evenings and lazy weekends. However, waiting means living in the in-between. We are almost parents, but still a family of two. On the rare occasion, I get really annoyed with waiting. We have a room for them with a crib and toys and books. I am ready to meet them and play together. Why can’t they just hurry up and get here already? On those days, I find myself thinking, “Perhaps it would just be easier to get pregnant. Then we would know when the baby would be here. We could find out if it would be a boy or a girl, we could pick a name, we could have more control of the situation.”

Then I remember that we choose adoption for a reason. We were called to it. Yes, we did not get pregnant on our own, but we choose not to pursue any testing and opted for adoption as our first choice. The process of adoption can be beautiful when it is done correctly. We pray for our unknown child everyday. I have had dreams about our child that feel as real as any memory and are as vivid as any movie.  I can wonder for hours about what life we be like when they join us.

I often find myself operating in two worlds. One of science and one of faith. Many times, the two do not appear to blend. I have learned that with careful evaluation, the two worlds often completment and support each other. It is through science that my faith is strengthened.

The world of science might say the faith in a Higher Being is used as a crutch. A form of denial of the cold, hard facts. The world of science will, at times, say the desire to become a parent, while completly natural, can run the risk of setting one up to fail. That adoption can often hide unaddressed deeper issues that are covered by becoming a parent. That parental responsibility can (at times) be used to work out larger unconscous issues in an attempt to re-do the past. I have seen this first hand – more than once. It can certinaly happen.

I also operate in a world of faith. A world where I know that our experience of peace while waiting is due to the fact that we a doing exactly what were called to do. And while I have a multitude (MULTITUDE) of questions about how this will all work out – how we will ever bond and attach appropriately, how we will address our child’s feelings of loss of their birthmother etc.  I know that ultimately, God is taking care of it. He will create the correct neurological chemicals to help attachment and bonding. He is giving us peace while we wait so that we are able to be free from (a majority) of expectations so that we are free to enjoy the process – whatever it may look like.

I am not so naive to think this will end is a story book ending, but no matter how messy the end picture,I know we will have walked the path that was meant for us.

It is an odd feeling, to know I am already someones momma. I know while we wait, God is knitting our hearts together – mine and my child’s.

Knit one, perl two, baby.

“And God began making the necessary arrangements in response to what Hannah had asked.” −1 Samuel 1:19

4 thoughts on “On becoming a Mother

  1. Aimee January 28, 2010 / 11:12 pm

    Angela,
    I hope you dont mind me commenting on this. First off, its a very well written blog! I really enjoyed reading it and appreciate you sharing it:)

    As an adopted child I am always interested in the adoption triad and the processes that each person goes through. I am almost 39…ack…and you know you made me think that sure my journey has been affected by adoption, we all probably make somewhat of the same journey to figure out where we all fit in this world.

    Here are the things that were so important to me. Had I been held when I was born? Did she look at me, get to say goodbye? How old was she? What did she love? What was my medical history like? Did I have brothers or sisters? What made her make the choice to place me for adoption? There were probably more questions, but those stand out to me. Now your situation is different, you will be getting your child from, most likely the system. However, you may find that he/she will have some of the same questions. Maybe they wont have any.

    The big thing that I read is something that I find pretty amazing! So many families chose adoption as a last resort. You are taking this as your first choice! WOW how awesome is that???? How wonderful for when baby arrives for him/her to grow up knowing that? Attachment and bonding will be a breeze:) The love you already carry is evident and strong. I can’t wait to see your little one basking in the glory of being with you both!

    The waiting…oh the waiting…it must be so hard at times. I guess you just never know when it will happen. Then I think well, there is a plan up there and its already set in motion, and there is a very special(and blessed) child that has already been picked for you and your hubby…now if she/he would hurry it up:)
    Hang in there!
    Aimee

  2. Debbie January 28, 2010 / 11:20 pm

    🙂 great…. Great scripture to end (begin with…. 😉

  3. leftcornerofmybrain January 28, 2010 / 11:22 pm

    Aimee, Thanks for sharing! I am so glad you read this since we have spoken several times about adoption 🙂

Leave a Reply

